Underage Drinking and The Law
Underage drinking and Social Hosting (providing alcohol to a minor) is against the law.
Both can cause disasterous effects to our youth, families and the greater community.
In the Massapequas:
- Youth (grades 11/12) report adults and youth supply alcohol:
- I got it from someone I know under the age of 21 (36%)
- I got it from someone I know age 21 or older (32%)
- I got it at home with my parent’s permission (21%)
- I got it from home without my parents’ permission (17%)
- Youth (grades 11/12) report drinking alcohol in the past year:
- 69% at Someone Else’s Home;
- 38% at their Home;
- 22% at an open area (park, beach, field, woods or street corner)
- 17% at a sporting event or concert
- 13% at a restaurant, bar or nightclub
In the Massapequas, 10% of Massapequas youth (grades 11/12) drove after drinking alcohol, endangering themselves, their friends and our families.*
*New York Partnership for Success Student Survey: Massapequa Union Free School District (Grades 7-12)
Nassau County Social Host Law
You and anyone over the age of 18 are breaking the law if you give alcohol, marijuana or opiates to your teen’s friends who are under the age of 21, under any circumstance. You and anyone over the age of 18 are subject to prosecution under the Social Host Law if you knowingly allow a person under 21 to remain in your home or on your property while consuming or possessing alcoholic beverages, marijuana and opiates. A Social Host Law violation is a misdemeanor - a criminal conviction punishable by progressive fines and penalties:
- 1st offense is subject to a fine of $250;
- 2nd offense is subject to a fine of $500; and the
- 3rd offense and future offenses are subject to a fine of $1000 and/or up to a year in jail.
Click here to learn more.
New York State Zero Tolerance Law
Effective Nov. 1, 1996, it is a violation of law for a person under the age of 21 to consume alcohol and operate a motor vehicle. Actually, the law states that any person under the age of 21 who is caught operating a motor vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .02 of 1% or more but not more than .07% of 1% will be guilty of a “zero tolerance” violation. Click here to learn more about the consequences of your child getting a Zero Tolerance Violation.
New York State Good Samaritan Law
In New York State, a person who in good faith seeks care for himself or someone experiencing a life-threatening emergency will not be charged or prosecuted for a drug or alcohol related offense including possession of drug paraphernalia, with some exceptions. Protection does not extend to offenses involving drug trafficking and sale, obstruction or interference with law enforcement, and possession of felony amounts of controlled substances or marijuana. Click here to learn more.
New York State Laws Against Driving While Intoxicated
The fact is driving drunk can ruin you or your child’s life and cause injury and harm in the community. It is against the law to operate a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol (or drugs) in New York.
Ten percent of Massapequa Youth (grades 11/12) reported driving a car or other vehicle in the past 30 days when they had been drinking alcohol. Talk with your child about the consequences of driving under the influence and explain the laws – if broken will change their and your family’s future. Click here to learn more about the NYS Law Consequences of DWI.
New York State Leandra's Law (Child Passenger Protection Act)
Leandra's Law was named in honor of Leandra Rosado, an 11 year old girl who was killed while she rode in a car with the intoxicated mother of one of her friends. In response to this tragedy, the NYS Legislature made several changes to the Vehicle and Traffic Law (VTL) including first time offenders driving while intoxicated (.08 Blood Alcohol Content [BAC] or more) or impaired by drugs, with a 15 year old or younger child passenger can be charged with a class E felony punishable by up to 4 years in prison. Click here to learn more.
The Developing Teen Brain >>
Alcohol and Health >>